Mike's Oud Forums

new peg job not smooth - pegs skip and jump

maqamworld - 4-23-2005 at 07:31 AM

Dear oud experts,

I just redid the pegs on my Sukkar oud. I bought a matched German reamer and sharpener set, and used ebony viola pegs.

The new pegs fit very well as far as I can see, but when I turn them they dont turn smothly, they skip and jump.:shrug:

Am I skipping a step in the process ? should I smooth the pegs more with fine sandpaper / steel wool ? should I smooth the ionside of the holes ?

thanks for your expertise.

Johnny
http://www.maqamworld.com

Jameel - 4-23-2005 at 08:40 AM

Johnny,

I've done this job a few times, so I have some experience. I'm no expert however.